[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: Flight model for new helicopter game< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
joncoughlin
(HC716JO)

Group: Member
Posted: June 06 2017,03:10

Hi, all

I found Hovercontrol in a google search. I am a game developer and I'm a couple weeks into a project that I hope to turn into a commercial video game. Here's my most recent progress gif:

https://twitter.com/ClickToZoom/status/871830743810486275  

I am making a helicopter flight sim inspired by Sim Copter (a game I was obsessed with in my youth). The presentation and tone of the game will probably be lighthearted, but I would like a range of flight models from full-arcade to full-simulation (within reason).

I was an aerospace engineer for 8 years and my specialty was flight simulation, but I did mostly fixed-wing and missile sim development, so rotary-wing flight dynamics are new to me.

Can anyone in this community point me toward good resources for developing a standard flight model for helicopters? I should be able to handle full aerodynamics and control systems literature, so don't be afraid of technical depth. I have paged through the FAA Rotorcraft handbook and I'm looking at picking up some textbooks, but I'm so new to this stuff that I don't really know where to start.

You can find more of my games here (and I post progress gifs on my twitter handle):

www.joncoughlin.com
www.twitter.com/clicktozoom
Profile PM 
Bluebottle
(HC154BL)

Group: Certified Pilot
Posted: June 06 2017,11:51

As a priority I would determine your target audience.

Simmers don't tend to use video games (I have never owned one and I am not unusual)
Gamers tend not to use simulators - the learning curve is tedious and realistic flight is boring (no "crash and burn" or shooting)