HOME | ABOUT | FORUM | FILES | ARTICLES | MULTIPLAYER | FAQ | STORE | GALLERY
Terms of use • Privacy statement  
 


» Welcome Guest
[ Log In :: Register ]

 

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: P3d v4 speedtrees and rotorwash!< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
airtrooper
(HC473AI)
Offline





Group: Student Pilot
Posts: 279
Joined: April 2006
Posted: June 02 2017,11:02

Are many HC members flying Prepar3D v4? If not I can highly recommend it.

I really like the replacement of the old default trees with 3D Speedtrees, which look better and react to wind. I discovered they all react to rotorwash! If you're doing a confined-area-landing the branches start swishing around like the real thing!  :D


--------------


i7-4770K 8Mb @ 3.5GHz Haswell GPU, ASUS Z87-PRO mobo, Corsair 8GB (2 x 4GB) Vengeance Pro DDR3 1600MHz CL9 RAM,
MSI GTX 780 902MHz 3Gb GPU, LG W2363D 23" LCD + nVidia GeForce 3D Vision Kit, Win7 Pro 64-bit
Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals, Saitek X52 Pro, Buttkicker Gamer, TrackIR 4
Back to top
Profile PM 
Shawn
(HC356SH)
Offline





Group: Student Pilot
Posts: 2688
Joined: Nov. 2004
Posted: June 02 2017,13:43

I will be installing today, I have heard nothing but positive stuff so far.
Back to top
Profile PM 
jeansy
(HC515JE)
Offline





Group: Member
Posts: 1143
Joined: May 2004
Posted: June 02 2017,16:24

im not a real big fan of them, there is too much contrast with the trees and FTX Global and regions

if the trees where a  little darker that would be perfect


--------------
Matt
FS Painter @ The Hangar
Or Click here to direct access to All my Repaints

AUSTRALIA
Back to top
Profile PM 
airtrooper
(HC473AI)
Offline





Group: Student Pilot
Posts: 279
Joined: April 2006
Posted: June 02 2017,17:21

Quote (Shawn @ June 02 2017,13:43)
I will be installing today, I have heard nothing but positive stuff so far.

Indeed... the future is very bright with P3D4

--------------


i7-4770K 8Mb @ 3.5GHz Haswell GPU, ASUS Z87-PRO mobo, Corsair 8GB (2 x 4GB) Vengeance Pro DDR3 1600MHz CL9 RAM,
MSI GTX 780 902MHz 3Gb GPU, LG W2363D 23" LCD + nVidia GeForce 3D Vision Kit, Win7 Pro 64-bit
Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals, Saitek X52 Pro, Buttkicker Gamer, TrackIR 4
Back to top
Profile PM 
airtrooper
(HC473AI)
Offline





Group: Student Pilot
Posts: 279
Joined: April 2006
Posted: June 02 2017,17:26

Quote (jeansy @ June 02 2017,16:24)
im not a real big fan of them, there is too much contrast with the trees and FTX Global and regions

if the trees where a  little darker that would be perfect

Indeed, they are on the light side, relatively speaking. However, their 3D form and animation has me sold.

Perhaps FTX Global and regions can be made light to match! ???
Controversial?!  :;):


--------------


i7-4770K 8Mb @ 3.5GHz Haswell GPU, ASUS Z87-PRO mobo, Corsair 8GB (2 x 4GB) Vengeance Pro DDR3 1600MHz CL9 RAM,
MSI GTX 780 902MHz 3Gb GPU, LG W2363D 23" LCD + nVidia GeForce 3D Vision Kit, Win7 Pro 64-bit
Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals, Saitek X52 Pro, Buttkicker Gamer, TrackIR 4
Back to top
Profile PM 
bobsk8
(HC276BO)
Offline





Group: Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mar. 2017
Posted: June 13 2017,11:26

Been flying P3D since version 2 and love it. As far as speed trees, many early users of version 4 say they have to turn speed trees off because it negatively impacts FPS.

--------------
Bob Cardone
Back to top
Profile PM 
FireRx
(HC292FI)
Offline





Group: Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sep. 2016
Posted: June 13 2017,23:51

agree, the majority of my helicopters work in it, except Milviz. I also emailed Stephan to get BladeslpSND to work on Prepar3D v4.  :D
Back to top
Profile PM 
jeansy
(HC515JE)
Offline





Group: Member
Posts: 1143
Joined: May 2004
Posted: June 14 2017,00:21

Quote (bobsk8 @ June 13 2017,20:26)
Been flying P3D since version 2 and love it. As far as speed trees, many early users of version 4 say they have to turn speed trees off because it negatively impacts FPS.

I keep reading that

but too many people are maxing their sliders to the highest possible settings thinking everything will work in v4 with minimum impact to fps

its not entirely the trees thats impacting FPS, its the rest of the autogen, shaders and confusion of peoples abilities vs ambitions.


--------------
Matt
FS Painter @ The Hangar
Or Click here to direct access to All my Repaints

AUSTRALIA
Back to top
Profile PM 
FireRx
(HC292FI)
Offline





Group: Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sep. 2016
Posted: June 14 2017,00:29

agree, it is not necessary to max out the setting.  I have a happy medium and still enjoy all the "eye candy" I want. the Lighting engine is phenominal for helicopters on night ops.  :cool:

Edited by FireRx on June 14 2017,00:30
Back to top
Profile PM 
jeansy
(HC515JE)
Offline





Group: Member
Posts: 1143
Joined: May 2004
Posted: June 14 2017,02:15

not to mention installing everything possible that runs because we want to kick off v4 where we left v3 or fsx

the past few weeks ive been pulling apart v4 and find what causes memory and FPS hits and CTDs, plus learning the structure on what makes it tick and deliberately loading stuff to a point where I need to do a fresh install.

At the same time learning on what is required to successfully port over older item and trying to see how to do the 32bit to 64bit gauge and dll conversions myself

ive noticed that a lot of fsx and v3 addons that arent optimized for v4 cause bottlenecks on CPU loadings.

however in todays world and mindset of "we need everything now" we are forgetting to take it slow and wait

its no different from the first few months of the launch of FSX where we had to re learn a new format and wait for a lot of conversations if not new releases.

but if you say that to anyone who is complaining about FPS, OOMs and CTDs in v4, they say that your wrong and its v4 thats at fault not the user as it worked fine in v3 and or fsx


--------------
Matt
FS Painter @ The Hangar
Or Click here to direct access to All my Repaints

AUSTRALIA
Back to top
Profile PM 
19dcavscout
(HC68019)
Offline





Group: Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Dec. 2006
Posted: June 14 2017,12:19

I am extremely impressed with P3Dv4. The trees add a ton of immersion. I do agree that they need a texture change, but I am sure they are coming, if not from LM, but from a 3rd party.
Back to top
Profile PM 
jeansy
(HC515JE)
Offline





Group: Member
Posts: 1143
Joined: May 2004
Posted: June 14 2017,13:05

Quote (19dcavscout @ June 14 2017,21:19)
I am extremely impressed with P3Dv4. The trees add a ton of immersion. I do agree that they need a texture change, but I am sure they are coming, if not from LM, but from a 3rd party.

Thats on next weeks cards, im going to pull apart the textures and see if they are repaint able or at least change the tint of green

--------------
Matt
FS Painter @ The Hangar
Or Click here to direct access to All my Repaints

AUSTRALIA
Back to top
Profile PM 
11 replies since June 02 2017,11:02 < Next Oldest | Next Newest >

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]