[ Log In :: Register ]

[ Track this topic :: Email this topic :: Print this topic ]

Topic: New to helicopters< Next Oldest | Next Newest >
aussiebird
(HC001AU)

Group: Member
Posted: Jan. 04 2017,02:56

Evening/Morning,

I am new to the helicopter side of flight simming and need some direction/guidance for what helicopters to start out on.  I am looking at the Dodosim 206 (which I like) but am not sure about its complexity and fear I may (if buying it) be biting off more than I can chew as a newbie on helicopters.

I should add that I fly mainly FS9 and either freeware or payware works for me so long as the model is good and comes with a proper PSP or PSD layered paint kit preferably.

Any advice or guidance will be appreciated.

Cheers,

Aussiebird

--------------
Cheers,

Aussiebird aka Wombat457
Profile PM 
aussiebird
(HC001AU)

Posted: Jan. 07 2017,06:02

Seems as though there is a trend here - 154 views and no help, advise, suggestions or anything.  

Does anyone even come to these forums anymore?  For the past few days, regardless of the time of day or night, I have been the only "Member" here.  Kind of makes these forums completely useless to anyone  :(

--------------
Cheers,

Aussiebird aka Wombat457
Profile PM 
Manilow
(HC225MA)

Group: Student Pilot
Posted: Jan. 07 2017,09:02

Hi,
Firstly welcome to hovercontrol, People aren't normally shy here to offer a welcome.
I'm guessing the more regular posters must be still recovering from the holidays ;)

But as far as to what to start flying the Dodo 206 is an excellent choice. It offers different levels of difficulty from 1-5 which is selected from the overhead panel read the manual for what each level adds.

The key with helicopters is the hover... Which is the hardest thing to do and the first thing you need to achieve.